Country guide
Employer of record in Brazil: the real cost in 2026
An employer of record (EOR) employs your worker in Brazil for you. You do not need a Brazilian company. But Brazilian law limits the supply of workers to another company, so read the section on outsourcing before you choose.
This guide shows the full yearly cost: the salary, the 13th salary, the vacation bonus, the employer's contributions and the provider's fee. Every figure has a source and a check date.
Key facts for 2026
- Employer costs
- 35.8% of all pay, with no ceiling: INSS 20%, work accident insurance (RAT) 2%, third parties 5.8% and FGTS 8%. The pay includes the 13th salary and the vacation bonus of 1/3 of a month, which come on top of 12 monthly salaries.Lei 8.212/1991, articles 22 and 28, Decreto 3.048/1999, Annex V (RAT by activity), IN RFB 2.110/2022, Annex III (FPAS 515), Lei 8.036/1990, articles 15 and 18Checked 2 Oct 2026
- EOR provider fees
- R$1,035 to R$3,637 a month for each employee, in the providers' published prices (Boundless to Oyster).Boundless pricing, Oyster pricing, European Central BankChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Minimum wage
- R$1,621 a month, from 1 January 2026.Decreto 12.797/2025, the 2026 minimum wageChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Leave and holidays
- 30 days of paid vacation a year, with a bonus of 1/3 of the salary. 10 national holidays in 2026.Constitution of Brazil, article 7, Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT), Portaria MGI 11.460/2025, holidays for 2026 (DOU)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Notice
- 30 days, plus 3 days for each year of service, up to 90 days. A dismissal without cause also costs 40% of the FGTS deposits.Lei 12.506/2011, proportional notice, Lei 8.036/1990, articles 15 and 18Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Outsourcing
- Outsourcing is legal for any activity, but the provider must direct the work. Temporary work through a registered agency is limited to 270 days.Lei 6.019/1974, temporary work and outsourcingChecked 2 Oct 2026
The cost of an employee in Brazil
Your estimate
The salary is 12 times the monthly salary, without the 13th salary and the vacation bonus. The employer's contributions have no ceiling.
The work accident rate is 1%, 2% or 3% by the main activity of the EOR, times a factor (FAP) of 0.5 to 2. The supply of human resources to third parties pays 2%, and a new company has a factor of 1.
Employer costs, line by line
| Cost | Employer rate | Applies to | Per year | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social securityINSS patronal | 20% | R$133,333.33 | R$26,666.67 | Lei 8.212/1991, articles 22 and 28Checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Work accident insuranceRAT | 2% | R$133,333.33 | R$2,666.67 | Lei 8.212/1991, articles 22 and 28, Decreto 3.048/1999, articles 202 and 202-A, Decreto 3.048/1999, Annex V (RAT by activity)Checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Third-party contributionsterceiros | 5.8% | R$133,333.33 | R$7,733.33 | IN RFB 2.110/2022, Annex III (FPAS 515)Checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Severance fundFGTS | 8% | R$133,333.33 | R$10,666.67 | Lei 8.036/1990, articles 15 and 18Checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| 13th salarydécimo terceiro | 1/12 | R$120,000.00 | R$10,000.00 | Lei 4.090/1962, the 13th salaryChecked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Vacation bonusterço de férias | 1/36 | R$120,000.00 | R$3,333.33 | Constitution of Brazil, article 7, Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT)Checked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Employer costs | R$61,066.67 |
Costs that this estimate leaves out
- Transport vouchervale-transporteIf the employee asks for it, the employer pays the cost of the commute above 6% of the base salary. The cost depends on the commute.
- Collective agreement extrasA collective agreement can set a higher wage floor and add benefits, such as meal vouchers. They depend on the union and the city.
- FGTS penalty on dismissalA dismissal without cause costs 40% of all the FGTS deposits, plus the notice. Some providers charge a monthly accrual for it.
All-in cost with a provider
Each provider's published monthly price for one employee. A "from" price is the lowest price, and the price for one country can be higher. When a provider publishes a price in reais, we use it. Ask each provider for a quote.
- Gross salary
- Employer costs
- Provider fee
| Provider | Fee | All-in total per year | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|
| BoundlessFrom. No set-up fee and no minimum commitment. The price can vary by country.Boundless pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$199 a monthR$12,424.12 a year | R$193,490.79 | Get a quote |
| RemoFirstFrom. The fee can vary by country. No set-up fee and no minimum contract term.RemoFirst pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$199 a monthR$12,424.12 a year | R$193,490.79 | Get a quote |
| SkuadPrice for Brazil. The page also shows offers of US$249 and US$199, which depend on hiring volume and on yearly billing.Skuad Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$349 a monthR$21,789.03 a year | R$202,855.70 | Get a quote |
| PlayrollFrom. No minimum commitment. A refundable deposit of 1 month's salary.Playroll pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$399 a monthR$24,910.67 a year | R$205,977.34 | Get a quote |
| MultiplierCore plan, with yearly billing. Add-ons that the law requires and an implementation fee can apply.Multiplier pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$459 a monthR$28,656.64 a year | R$209,723.31 | Get a quote |
| Papaya GlobalFrom, on the pricing page. The Brazil page says from US$599 a month.Papaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$499 a monthR$31,153.95 a year | R$212,220.62 | Get a quote |
| WorkMotionFrom. At least 3 monthly fees for each employee. The deposit is the notice period in months times the monthly employment cost.WorkMotion pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$549 a monthR$34,275.59 a year | R$215,342.26 | Get a quote |
| DeelFrom. Month-to-month pricing. The Brazil page also lists an admin fee of 0.60% and a severance accrual, which our totals leave out.Deel pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$599 a monthR$37,397.22 a year | R$218,463.89 | Get a quote |
| G-PFrom. Discounts for volume. No minimum contract length.G-P pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$599 a monthR$37,397.22 a year | R$218,463.89 | Get a quote |
| RemotePrice in US dollars. No deposit as a rule. Reserve payments only in rare, high-risk cases.Remote pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$699 a monthR$43,640.50 a year | R$224,707.17 | Get a quote |
| OysterFrom. Discounts for yearly billing. A refundable deposit applies, but the amount is not stated.Oyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | US$699 a monthR$43,640.50 a year | R$224,707.17 | Get a quote |
The fees use the ECB reference rates of 30 Sep 2026: €1 = 5.9077 BRL, 1.1355 USD. European Central BankChecked 1 Oct 2026
Assumptions
- The salary is 12 times the monthly salary. The 13th salary and the vacation bonus of 1/3 of a month come on top of it.
- The contributions and the FGTS apply to the salary, the 13th salary and the vacation bonus. They have no ceiling.
- The employer is a services company that is not in Simples Nacional (FPAS 515). The RAT rate depends on its main activity and its FAP.
- The employee takes 30 days of vacation a year and does not sell any of them.
EOR providers in Brazil
Each answer comes from the provider's own website. "Not stated" means that we did not find the answer there. Ask the provider to confirm it before you sign. No provider publishes a price in reais, so we convert the US dollar prices.
| Provider | Published EOR price | Employs people through | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boundless | US$199 a monthFrom. No set-up fee and no minimum commitment. The price can vary by country.Boundless pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedBoundless Brazil guideChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Deel | US$599 a monthFrom. Month-to-month pricing. The Brazil page also lists an admin fee of 0.60% and a severance accrual, which our totals leave out.Deel pricing, Deel Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Own companyDeel blog, EOR in BrazilChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| G-P | US$599 a monthFrom. Discounts for volume. No minimum contract length.G-P pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedG-P Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Multiplier | US$459 a monthCore plan, with yearly billing. Add-ons that the law requires and an implementation fee can apply.Multiplier pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedMultiplier Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Oyster | US$699 a monthFrom. Discounts for yearly billing. A refundable deposit applies, but the amount is not stated.Oyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedOyster Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Papaya Global | US$499 a monthFrom, on the pricing page. The Brazil page says from US$599 a month.Papaya Global pricing, Papaya Global Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedPapaya Global Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Playroll | US$399 a monthFrom. No minimum commitment. A refundable deposit of 1 month's salary.Playroll pricing, Playroll Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedPlayroll Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| RemoFirst | US$199 a monthFrom. The fee can vary by country. No set-up fee and no minimum contract term.RemoFirst pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | PartnerRemoFirst pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Remote | US$699 a monthPrice in US dollars. No deposit as a rule. Reserve payments only in rare, high-risk cases.Remote pricing, Remote Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Own companyRemote Brazil page, Remote local termsChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Rippling | Quote onlyRippling sends a custom quote.Rippling pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedRippling Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| Skuad | US$349 a monthPrice for Brazil. The page also shows offers of US$249 and US$199, which depend on hiring volume and on yearly billing.Skuad Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Not statedSkuad Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
| WorkMotion | US$549 a monthFrom. At least 3 monthly fees for each employee. The deposit is the notice period in months times the monthly employment cost.WorkMotion pricing, WorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 2 Oct 2026 | Own companyWorkMotion Brazil pageChecked 2 Oct 2026 | Get a quote |
EOR, own company or contractor?
There are three ways to work with someone in Brazil. Each one fits a different case.
- Employer of record
- The EOR employs the person for you and runs the payroll. You need no Brazilian company. But the rules on outsourcing limit this model (see the next section).Lei 6.019/1974, temporary work and outsourcingChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Your own Brazilian company
- A limited company (Ltda) can have one member. A foreign company that is a member needs a Brazilian tax number (CNPJ) and a representative who lives in Brazil. The managers can live abroad, with a representative in Brazil. The company reports the foreign investment to the Central Bank. A foreign company needs a federal authorisation to operate in Brazil through a branch.Civil Code, articles 1.052 and 1.134, DREI, manual for limited companies (PDF), Banco Central, Resolução BCB 278/2022Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Contractor (PJ)
- An employee is a person who works for an employer in a regular way, under its direction and for a salary. Direction through digital tools counts too. A contract that hides an employment is void. The Supreme Court has not yet decided its case on contracts with a person's own company (Tema 1389).Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT), TRT-4, the Supreme Court case on PJ contracts (Tema 1389), 19 Jun 2026Checked 2 Oct 2026
Temporary work and outsourcing rules
An EOR is the legal employer, but the person works under your direction. Brazilian law allows this in two forms only, and each one has limits.
- Temporary work
- A temporary work company must register with the Ministry of Labour and have a capital of at least R$100,000. The client directs the work. But the law allows it only to replace permanent staff for a time, or for extra demand, and for at most 180 days plus 90 more.Lei 6.019/1974, temporary work and outsourcing, Decreto 10.854/2021, labour rules, gov.br, registration of a temporary work companyChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Outsourcing (terceirização)
- A company can outsource any activity, including its main activity. But the service company hires, pays and directs the work of its own workers. The client has a secondary liability for their pay.Lei 6.019/1974, temporary work and outsourcing, TRT-6, the Supreme Court thesis on outsourcing (Tema 725)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- The court rule
- The Superior Labour Court says that hiring workers through another company is illegal, except for temporary work. The employment link then forms with the client. There is no link with the client only when the client does not direct the worker in person.TST, Súmula 331 (LexML)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Employers of record
- No official Brazilian source names employers of record. In a usual EOR service, you direct the work of the person for an open-ended period. That fits neither form above, so a court can find that the person is your employee.Lei 6.019/1974, temporary work and outsourcing, TST, Súmula 331 (LexML)Checked 2 Oct 2026
Ask each provider these questions before you sign:
- Under which law do you place the employee with us: temporary work or outsourcing?
- Who directs the daily work, and what does the contract say about it?
- Who pays if a court finds an employment link with us?
These rules are complex. Ask a Brazilian labour lawyer how they apply to your case.
Employment rules
- Minimum wage
- R$1,621 a month from 1 January 2026, or R$54.04 a day. A collective agreement or a state law can set a higher floor. The 2027 budget bill forecasts R$1,741 a month.Decreto 12.797/2025, the 2026 minimum wage, Agência Câmara, the 2027 budget bill, R$1,741 minimum wageChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Working hours
- At most 8 hours a day and 44 hours a week. Overtime pays at least 50% more, with at most 2 extra hours a day. A bill to end the 6-day week (the 6x1 schedule) is in the Senate, but it is not law.Constitution of Brazil, article 7, Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT), Agência Brasil, the 6x1 schedule bill in the Senate, 2 Sep 2026Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Vacation
- 30 days of paid vacation after each 12 months of work, with a bonus of at least 1/3 of the salary. The employer pays it at least 2 days before the vacation starts. The employee can split it into up to 3 periods.Constitution of Brazil, article 7, Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- 13th salary
- 1/12 of the December pay for each month of service. The employer pays half between February and November, and the rest by 20 December.Lei 4.090/1962, the 13th salary, Lei 4.749/1965, payment of the 13th salaryChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Notice
- 30 days for up to 1 year of service, plus 3 days for each more year, up to 90 days. The employee gives 30 days. During the notice from the employer, the employee works 2 hours less each day, or takes 7 days off.Lei 12.506/2011, proportional notice, Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Dismissal without cause
- The employer pays the notice, the vacation and the 13th salary that the employee has earned, and a penalty of 40% of all the FGTS deposits. It pays within 10 days. A dismissal by agreement halves the notice pay and the penalty.Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT), Lei 8.036/1990, articles 15 and 18Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Probation
- A trial contract (contrato de experiência) can last up to 90 days, with one extension inside that limit.Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Maternity and paternity leave
- 120 days of maternity leave. The employer pays the salary and deducts it from its contributions. The job is protected from the confirmation of the pregnancy until 5 months after the birth. 5 days of paternity leave in 2026, and 10 days from 1 January 2027. Companies in the Empresa Cidadã programme add 60 days and 15 days.Consolidation of Labour Laws (CLT), Lei 8.213/1991, article 72, Lei 11.770/2008, Empresa Cidadã, Lei 15.371/2026, paternity leaveChecked 2 Oct 2026
- Public holidays
- The federal list for 2026 has 10 national holidays. States and cities add their own.Portaria MGI 11.460/2025, holidays for 2026 (DOU)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- Transport voucher
- If the employee asks for it, the employer pays the cost of the commute above 6% of the base salary. The voucher is not salary, so no contributions apply to it.Lei 7.418/1985, the transport voucher, Decreto 10.854/2021, labour rulesChecked 2 Oct 2026
Payroll and taxes
The employer, or the EOR, reports each new employee in eSocial before the first day of work, and the monthly payroll by the 15th of the next month. It pays the social security contributions and the FGTS by the 20th of the next month, and the contributions on the 13th salary by 20 December. It withholds income tax (IRRF) and pays it by the end of the second 10-day period of the next month.
The employer pays INSS of 20%, work accident insurance (RAT) of 1% to 3% by its main activity, contributions to third parties of 5.8%, and FGTS of 8%, on all pay. The RAT rate goes up or down with a factor (FAP) of 0.5 to 2. For the supply of human resources to third parties, the RAT is 2%, so the total is 35.8%.
The employee pays INSS of 7.5% to 14%, on pay up to R$8,475.55 a month. Income tax applies from R$2,428.81 a month, at rates up to 27.5%. In 2026, a new reduction removes the tax on pay up to R$5,000 a month.
Some IT companies can pay part of their contribution on their revenue until 2027. The supply of human resources to third parties is not on that list.
Sources: eSocial, guidance manual S-1.3 (PDF), gov.br, the FGTS Digital payment guide, gov.br, DCTFWeb, Lei 11.196/2005, article 70, Lei 8.212/1991, articles 22 and 28, Decreto 3.048/1999, articles 202 and 202-A, Decreto 3.048/1999, Annex V (RAT by activity), IN RFB 2.110/2022, Annex III (FPAS 515), Portaria Interministerial MPS/MF 13/2026, the 2026 INSS table (DOU), Receita Federal, the 2026 income tax tables, Lei 14.973/2024, the end of the payroll tax reliefChecked 2 Oct 2026
Payroll in Brazil: an EOR or a local payroll company?
A local payroll company calculates the pay, the tax and the contributions, and it files the returns. It does not employ the person. Your company stays the legal employer, with all the duties of an employer under Brazilian law.
- Registration
- eSocial identifies an employer that is a company only by its CNPJ, the tax number of a company in Brazil.eSocial, guidance manual S-1.3 (PDF)Checked 2 Oct 2026
- A foreign company
- A foreign company cannot operate in Brazil, even through a branch, without a federal authorisation. It also needs a permanent representative in Brazil.Civil Code, articles 1.052 and 1.134Checked 2 Oct 2026
We found no official route for a foreign company without a Brazilian entity to register as an employer. A payroll company can run the payroll of a company that already has a CNPJ. Without one, the choice is an EOR or your own Brazilian company. Ask a tax adviser if an employee in Brazil creates a taxable presence for your company.
Sources: eSocial, guidance manual S-1.3 (PDF), Civil Code, articles 1.052 and 1.134Checked 2 Oct 2026
Benefits
The law requires the INSS and FGTS contributions, the 13th salary, 30 days of vacation with the bonus of 1/3, and the transport voucher if the employee asks for it.
No federal law requires meal vouchers. Companies can join the workers' meal programme (PAT) for a tax benefit. Collective agreements often require meal vouchers and other benefits. Ask your provider which agreement applies.
Sources: Lei 8.212/1991, articles 22 and 28, Lei 8.036/1990, articles 15 and 18, Lei 4.090/1962, the 13th salary, Constitution of Brazil, article 7, Lei 7.418/1985, the transport voucher, Lei 6.321/1976, the workers' meal programme (PAT), Decreto 10.854/2021, labour rulesChecked 2 Oct 2026
How hiring through an EOR works
- Compare providers and ask for quotesAsk for the monthly fee in Brazil, the deposit or the severance accrual, the exchange rate and the notice period of the EOR contract. Ask how the provider deals with the outsourcing rules.
- Agree the employment termsAgree the monthly salary, the start date and the trial period with the candidate. The salary must meet the minimum wage and any floor of the collective agreement.
- The EOR signs the contractThe EOR becomes the legal employer. It reports the employee in eSocial before the first day of work.
- The EOR runs the payrollEach month, the EOR pays the salary and takes out the employee's INSS and income tax. It pays the contributions and the FGTS. It pays the 13th salary by 20 December and the vacation bonus before each vacation.
- You manage the daily workYou set the tasks and the goals. The EOR handles the employment administration.
Sources: eSocial, guidance manual S-1.3 (PDF), gov.br, the FGTS Digital payment guide, Lei 4.749/1965, payment of the 13th salaryChecked 2 Oct 2026
Questions and answers
How much does an employer of record cost in Brazil?
At a gross salary of R$120,000, the employer costs on top of the salary are R$61,067 a year. With the published provider fees, the all-in cost is between R$193,491 (Boundless) and R$224,707 (Oyster) a year, at the ECB rate of 30 Sep 2026. Prices for one country can differ, so ask for a quote.
Is an employer of record legal in Brazil?
Brazilian law does not name EORs. Outsourcing is legal for any activity, but the provider must direct the work. Temporary work through a registered agency is limited to 270 days. When the client directs the worker, a court can find an employment link with the client. Several providers say that they employ people through their own Brazilian companies. Ask a Brazilian labour lawyer.
Do I need a Brazilian company to hire someone there?
To employ someone yourself, yes: an employer needs a CNPJ, and a foreign company needs an authorisation to operate in Brazil. An EOR can employ the person for you, with the limits of the outsourcing rules.
What is the minimum wage in Brazil in 2026?
R$1,621 a month, from 1 January 2026.
How much are employer costs in Brazil?
The employer pays 35.8% on all pay, with no ceiling: INSS 20%, work accident insurance of about 2%, third parties 5.8% and FGTS 8%. It also pays the 13th salary and a vacation bonus of 1/3 of a month, and the same contributions apply to them.
What is the 13th salary?
One more monthly salary each year, for all employees. The employer pays half between February and November, and the rest by 20 December.
Which costs does this page leave out?
The transport voucher, because it depends on the commute. The 40% FGTS penalty and the notice pay, because they apply only at a dismissal. Benefits from the collective agreement, such as meal vouchers, and provider extras, such as deposits, also vary.
When do these figures change?
The 2027 budget bill forecasts a minimum wage of R$1,741 a month. The final figure comes at the end of 2026. From 1 January 2027, paternity leave rises to 10 days. We update this page when the new figures are official.
Change log
- We published this guide with the 2026 figures.
Warning: This page is not legal or tax advice. The figures come from official sources, but your case can be different. Check them with a payroll expert before you hire.
We show every provider in the same way. Some providers can pay us when you ask them for a quote through this site. This never changes our figures. Read how we earn money.