NewWe check every figure against its source. Report an error.

Guide

Hidden EOR costs: deposits, exchange rate margins, set-up and exit fees

Updated on 4 Oct 2026. Each figure shows its source and the date of our last check.

The monthly fee of an employer of record (EOR) is not the only cost. Deposits, exchange rate margins, exit fees and minimum terms can add to it.

We read the pricing pages, help centres and terms of 12 providers. This guide shows what each one says, with a link to each source.

Key facts

Deposits
8 of 12 providers say that they take a deposit, at least in some cases.
Set-up fees
5 of 12 providers say that they charge no set-up fee.
Exchange rates
5 of 12 providers say that they add a margin or a fee to the exchange rate. 4 do not say which rate they use.
What we checked
The pricing pages, help centres and terms of 12 providers, on 4 Oct 2026.

The costs of each provider at a glance

This table shows what each provider says on its own website. "Not stated" means that we found nothing on its public pages. The sections below give the details and the sources.

The costs beyond the monthly fee, by provider
ProviderDepositSet-up feeExit feeExchange rateMinimum termOther fees
BoundlessNot statedNoneNot statedNot statedNoneNot stated
Deel1 to 1.5 months of all chargesUS$80 in GermanyNot statedOwn forward rateMonth to monthLiability cost, card fees
G-PNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNoneFlat fee only
MultiplierSet by MultiplierPages do not agree15% penalty in some casesPages do not agreePages do not agreeProcessing fee, add-ons
OysterAbout 1 monthNoneNoneFee for other currencies30 days' noticeLate interest
Papaya GlobalAmount not statedNot statedNot statedProcessing feeNot statedNone stated
Playroll1 month's salaryNone3 months' fees in the first 6 monthsTypically 2.5%NoneNot stated
RemoFirstAmount not statedNoneNoneMid-market rateNoneNot stated
RemoteIn some casesNoneFull fee in the last monthOwn rate, margin allowed12 months, 30 days' noticeYearly increase, late interest
RipplingNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
SkuadNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedUp to 1 yearFee changes, late interest
WorkMotionNotice months times monthly costNot statedFee to the end of the noticeMargin not shown3 monthsIncreases, late fees

Deposits

Some providers ask for a deposit before the employee starts. It protects the provider if you stop paying.

A refundable deposit comes back at the end of the contract. Until then, you cannot use the money.

For example, at a gross salary of €70,000 a year in Germany, 1 month's salary is €5,833. So Playroll's deposit of 1 month's salary is that amount, for each employee.

Ask: "Is there a deposit, how much is it, and when do I get it back?"

Deel
Deel says that the standard deposit is 1 to 1.5 times all monthly charges: the salary, the employer costs, the allowances and the fee. Changes to the contract can raise it to 2 months. Deel refunds it at the end.Deel help centre, EOR deposit calculations (6 Jan 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Multiplier
An interest-free, refundable deposit before the contract starts. Multiplier sets the amount from the costs, the fees, the notice periods and your credit standing. It refunds it within 60 days of the last working day. It can also ask for a termination accrual for severance and notice.Multiplier EOR terms (1 Jun 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Oyster
Oyster normally asks for a fully refundable deposit of about 1 month of the total cost. It can ask for more. It returns the deposit as a credit note, usually 60 days after the end date.Oyster help centre, why a deposit is required (9 Apr 2025), Oyster help centre, deposit refund (15 Apr 2025), Oyster customer terms, version 8.1Checked 4 Oct 2026
Papaya Global
Papaya Global's own blog says that its EOR "requires a deposit". It does not state the amount.Papaya Global blog, best EOR services (11 Aug 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Playroll
A fully refundable deposit of 1 month's salary, when the employee starts.Playroll EOR pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
RemoFirst
RemoFirst refunds the deposit at the end, as a credit or to your bank account. It does not state the amount.RemoFirst knowledge base, offboardingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Remote
Remote asks for a reserve payment only in some cases, such as long notice periods, non-compete clauses or late payments. It refunds or credits the rest at the end.Remote help centre, reserve payments (29 Sep 2026), Remote pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
WorkMotion
A refundable deposit: the notice period in months times the monthly employment cost, or an amount from a risk check. It is rounded up to the next 500, and it earns no interest.WorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 4 Oct 2026

Boundless, G-P, Rippling and Skuad do not say on their public pages.

Set-up and onboarding fees

A set-up, onboarding or implementation fee is a one-off fee. It can apply to each new employee, or to your account.

Ask: "Is there a one-off fee for each new employee, or for the account?"

Boundless
Boundless says that there are no set-up fees for its EOR service.Boundless pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Deel
Deel's Germany page lists a one-off fee of US$80.Deel Germany pageChecked 1 Oct 2026
Multiplier
The pricing page lists an "implementation fee as applicable". The FAQ says that there are no set-up, onboarding or offboarding fees.Multiplier pricing, Multiplier FAQChecked 4 Oct 2026
Oyster
Oyster says that set-up and onboarding are in its subscription fee.Oyster pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Playroll
Playroll says that it charges no fees for onboarding or offboarding.Playroll EOR pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
RemoFirst
RemoFirst says that it charges no set-up or onboarding fees.RemoFirst pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Remote
Remote says that it charges no platform, onboarding or set-up fees for its EOR product.Remote pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026

G-P, Papaya Global, Rippling, Skuad and WorkMotion do not say on their public pages.

Exit and offboarding fees

An exit or offboarding fee is a fee of the provider when the employment ends. It is separate from the notice pay and the severance that the law requires.

The law of the country sets the notice and the severance. Each country guide gives these rules.

Ask: "Is there a fee when the employment ends, apart from the notice and severance that the law requires?"

Multiplier
The FAQ says that there are no offboarding fees. The EOR terms add a penalty of 15% of the final invoice if you break the termination process. Multiplier needs 30 days to process a termination.Multiplier FAQ, Multiplier EOR terms (1 Jun 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Oyster
Oyster says that processing terminations is in its subscription fee.Oyster pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Playroll
If the employment ends in the first 6 months, Playroll charges 3 months of its fee. This also applies when the employee resigns.Playroll help centre, termination fee (9 Jun 2022)Checked 4 Oct 2026
RemoFirst
RemoFirst says that it charges no termination fees.RemoFirst pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Remote
Remote charges the full monthly fee in the last month. This also applies when the employment ends mid-month.Remote help centre, fee in the last month (13 May 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026
WorkMotion
You pay the monthly fee until the end of the employee's notice period, also when the notice is not worked.WorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 4 Oct 2026

Boundless, Deel, G-P, Papaya Global, Rippling and Skuad do not say on their public pages.

Exchange rate margins

When you pay in one currency and the employee gets paid in another, the provider converts the money. A margin on the exchange rate is a cost that the invoice may not show as a fee.

Our totals use the reference rates of the European Central Bank (ECB). A provider's own rate can be different.

Ask: "Which exchange rate do you use, and do you add a margin to it?"

Deel
Deel uses a forward rate from its banking partners, not the mid-market rate. It does not state a margin.Deel help centre, exchange rates and fees (20 May 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Multiplier
The FAQ says that Multiplier uses the mid-market rate with no markup. The general terms say that it converts at "an exchange rate determined by Multiplier".Multiplier FAQ, Multiplier general terms (1 Jun 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Oyster
Oyster invoices at the mid-market rate. It charges a conversion fee if you pay in a currency other than the contract currency. It does not state the fee.Oyster help centre, payment currencies (15 Apr 2025), Oyster pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Papaya Global
The rate is the mid-market rate plus an "FX processing fee". Papaya Global states no percent. For EOR, the margins on its hedging differ by country.Papaya Global FX rate, Papaya Global exchange rate policyChecked 4 Oct 2026
Playroll
A forex fee, typically 2.5%, applies to the cost of employment when Playroll converts the money. It does not apply to Playroll's own fee.Playroll help centre, forex fees (4 Jun 2024)Checked 4 Oct 2026
RemoFirst
RemoFirst uses the mid-market rate, locked at the time of the invoice. It does not say if it adds a margin.RemoFirst knowledge base, exchange ratesChecked 4 Oct 2026
Remote
Remote converts at its own "Remote FX Rate". Its terms allow a transaction fee or margin. A salary in a non-local currency costs US$50 a month.Remote help centre, conversion rates (11 Aug 2026), Remote terms of service (3 Aug 2026), Remote help centre, non-local currency fee (20 Aug 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026
WorkMotion
WorkMotion uses a market rate, such as Fixer.io, plus an internal FX margin. The margin is in the rate, and WorkMotion does not show it separately.WorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 4 Oct 2026

Boundless, G-P, Rippling and Skuad do not say on their public pages.

Minimum terms and notice periods

A minimum term or a long notice period for the EOR contract can make you pay after the work ends.

Ask: "Is there a minimum term, and how much notice must I give to end the EOR contract?"

Boundless
Boundless says that it has no long-term or minimum commitments.Boundless pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Deel
Deel says that it offers month-to-month pricing, with no long-term commitment.Deel pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026
G-P
G-P says that there is no minimum contract length for EOR hires.G-P pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Multiplier
The FAQ says that there is no minimum term. The general terms say that neither side can end an Order Form for convenience. The fees for its whole term stay due. The pricing page shows yearly billing.Multiplier FAQ, Multiplier general terms (1 Jun 2026), Multiplier pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Oyster
Oyster states no minimum term. Either side can end the agreement on 30 days' written notice.Oyster customer terms, version 8.1Checked 4 Oct 2026
Playroll
Playroll says that it has no minimum commitments.Playroll EOR pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
RemoFirst
RemoFirst says that it has no annual contracts and no minimums.RemoFirst pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Remote
Remote's terms run for 12 months and renew each year. Either side can end them with 30 days' written notice.Remote terms of service (3 Aug 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Skuad
Skuad's terms run for the length of the contract or for 1 year, whichever ends first.Skuad terms of service (19 Mar 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
WorkMotion
You pay at least 3 monthly fees for each employee. The EOR contract has a notice period of 3 months.WorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 4 Oct 2026

Papaya Global and Rippling do not say on their public pages.

Other fees

Some providers add fees in percent of the payroll, such as an admin or liability fee. Others add services that the law of the country requires.

Ask: "Which fees come on top of the monthly fee in my country? Are any in percent of the payroll?"

Deel
Every EOR invoice has an Employer Liability Cost, based on the gross salary. Deel says that it is mandatory, and that the rate differs by country. Its country pages list 0.60% for Germany, Spain, Brazil and Mexico, and 0.30% for the UK and Canada. A card payment costs 2.9% plus US$0.30, or 3.9% outside the US and the EU. Late payment costs 0.15% of the invoice a day.Deel help centre, Employer Liability Cost (24 Jun 2026), Deel Germany page, Deel Spain page, Deel Brazil page, Deel Mexico page, Deel UK page, Deel Canada page, Deel help centre, exchange rates and fees (20 May 2025), Deel help centre, EOR late payment fees (31 Dec 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026
G-P
G-P says that it uses a flat-rate platform fee, not a percentage of the payroll.G-P EOR pageChecked 4 Oct 2026
Multiplier
A payment processing fee each payroll cycle, as the platform states. The pricing page adds "compliance mandated add-ons". Late payment costs 2% a month.Multiplier EOR terms (1 Jun 2026), Multiplier pricing, Multiplier general terms (1 Jun 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Oyster
Oyster's terms set late interest at 1.5% of the overdue amount a day. If the law allows less, the legal maximum applies.Oyster customer terms, version 8.1Checked 4 Oct 2026
Papaya Global
Papaya Global says that its prices have "no surprise fees or hidden markups".Papaya Global pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
Remote
Remote may raise its fees each year, with at least 30 days' notice. Late payment costs 0.1% a day. A payment method can cost extra.Remote terms of service (3 Aug 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
Skuad
Skuad can change its fees with 30 days' notice. Late payment costs 2% a year above its bank's overdraft rate.Skuad terms of service (19 Mar 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026
WorkMotion
WorkMotion can raise its fees when its costs rise. Late payment brings interest and a flat late fee.WorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 4 Oct 2026

Boundless, Playroll, RemoFirst and Rippling do not say on their public pages.

Questions to ask before you sign

Ask each provider these questions, and ask for the answers in the contract:

  • Is there a deposit, how much is it, and when do I get it back?
  • Is there a one-off fee for each new employee, or for the account?
  • Is there a fee when the employment ends, apart from the notice and severance that the law requires?
  • Which exchange rate do you use, and do you add a margin to it?
  • Is there a minimum term, and how much notice must I give to end the EOR contract?
  • Which fees come on top of the monthly fee in my country? Are any in percent of the payroll?

Then compare the all-in cost: the salary, the employer costs, the monthly fee and these extra costs. See the all-in cost in each country.

What we could not check

  • Rippling's EOR terms need a login, and its pricing page asks for a quote.
  • Skuad's help pages on deposits now open its help centre home page, so we could not check them.

Most providers give their full terms only in the contract or on their platform. The public pages can differ from your contract.

Questions and answers

Does an EOR take a deposit?

Many do. 8 of the 12 providers that we checked say that they take one, at least in some cases. Where they state an amount, it is about 1 month of the salary or of the total cost. Deel's standard deposit is 1 to 1.5 months of all charges.

Do EOR providers add a margin to the exchange rate?

5 of 12 providers say that they add a margin or a fee to the exchange rate. Playroll states a forex fee of typically 2.5%. Others give no percent.

Is there a fee when the employment ends?

It depends on the provider. Some say that they charge nothing. Others charge fees until the end of the notice period, or a fee when the employment ends early. The notice and severance that the law requires come on top.

How much does an EOR cost in total?

The published monthly fees in our countries are US$197 to US$796 a month for each employee. On top come the salary, the employer costs and the extra costs on this page. Each country guide gives the all-in cost with each provider.

Change log

  • We published this guide.

See every change on the site.

Warning: This page is not legal or tax advice. The figures come from official sources, but your case can be different. Check them with a payroll expert before you hire.