NewWe check every figure against its source. Report an error.

Ranking

The best employer of record (EOR) providers for startups in 2026

Updated on 13 Oct 2026. Each figure shows its source and the date of our last check.

This page lists the 12 EOR providers of our ranking for a startup: by their average published price, lowest first, with the deposit, the set-up fee and the minimum term of each.

No provider can pay for its place. Every fact comes from the provider's own website.

Key facts

Lowest average price
Boundless and RemoFirst, at US$199 a month on average.Boundless pricing, RemoFirst pricing, European Central BankChecked 1 Oct 2026
No minimum term
6 of 12 providers have none, by their own websites: Boundless, RemoFirst, Playroll, Deel, G-P and Oyster.
No set-up fee
5 of 12 providers say that they charge none: Boundless, RemoFirst, Playroll, Oyster and Remote.
Deposit
8 of 12 providers say that they take a deposit, at least in some cases. 4 do not say.

EOR providers for startups, by price

In the order of the average published price, lowest first. The price is the average published monthly fee for one employee, in US dollars at the ECB rate of 30 Sep 2026. The # column is the place in our ranking, with its score out of 100 points. The deposit, the set-up fee and the minimum term are what each provider says on its own website. "Not stated" means that we found nothing on its public pages.

#ProviderScoreAverage priceDepositSet-up feeMinimum termQuote
4Boundless50.1US$199Boundless pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026Not statedNoneBoundless pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026NoneBoundless pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
6RemoFirst39.9US$199RemoFirst pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026Amount not statedRemoFirst knowledge base, offboardingChecked 4 Oct 2026NoneRemoFirst pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026NoneRemoFirst pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
7Skuad31.2US$404Skuad Germany pageChecked 1 Oct 2026Not statedNot statedUp to 1 yearSkuad terms of service (19 Mar 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
5Playroll47.0US$411Playroll EOR pricingChecked 1 Oct 20261 month's salaryPlayroll EOR pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026NonePlayroll EOR pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026NonePlayroll EOR pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
8Multiplier31.0US$459Multiplier pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026Set by MultiplierMultiplier EOR terms (1 Jun 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026Pages do not agreeMultiplier pricing, Multiplier FAQChecked 4 Oct 2026Pages do not agreeMultiplier FAQ, Multiplier general terms (1 Jun 2026), Multiplier pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
11Papaya Global21.9US$499Papaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026Amount not statedPapaya Global blog, best EOR services (11 Aug 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026Not statedNot statedGet a quote
3WorkMotion54.8US$552WorkMotion pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026Notice months times monthly costWorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 7 Oct 2026Not stated3 monthsWorkMotion terms (PDF)Checked 7 Oct 2026Get a quote
1Deel62.4US$599Deel pricingChecked 1 Oct 20261 to 1.5 months of all chargesDeel help centre, EOR deposit calculations (6 Jan 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026US$80 in GermanyDeel Germany pageChecked 1 Oct 2026Month to monthDeel pricing, Deel platform terms (1 Jul 2026), Deel EOR, COR and payroll terms (24 Aug 2026)Checked 7 Oct 2026Get a quote
10G-P25.8US$643G-P pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026Not statedNot statedNoneG-P pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
9Oyster30.4US$710Oyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026About 1 monthOyster help centre, why a deposit is required (9 Apr 2025), Oyster help centre, deposit refund (15 Apr 2025), Oyster customer terms, version 8.1Checked 4 Oct 2026NoneOyster pricingChecked 4 Oct 202630 days' noticeOyster customer terms, version 8.1Checked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
2Remote58.3US$714Remote pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026In some casesRemote help centre, reserve payments (29 Sep 2026), Remote pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026NoneRemote pricingChecked 4 Oct 202612 months, 30 days' noticeRemote terms of service (3 Aug 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026Get a quote
12Rippling14.5Quote onlyNot statedNot statedNot statedGet a quote

Sources: each provider's own website, and the ECB reference rates of 30 Sep 2026. Read the full answer of each provider in the guide to hidden EOR costs.

How we order this list

The list uses the same data as our ranking. It has no score of its own. It shows four facts that matter for the first employees of a small company:

  1. Price. The average published monthly fee, over the countries where the provider publishes a price. It sets the order of the list. Providers with the same price keep the order of the ranking, and a provider without a published price comes last.
  2. Deposit. Money that the provider holds until the contract ends. You get it back, but you cannot use it until then.
  3. Set-up fee. A one-off fee for each new employee, or for your account.
  4. Minimum term. A minimum term, or a long notice period, can make you pay after the work ends.

The prices are list prices. The price for one country, and the price after a discount, can differ, so ask for a quote. We do not compare service quality, support or software, because we cannot check them against a source.

The contract can add other terms, such as the liability cap and the costs of claims. Read which contract terms to check.

The lowest fee in each country

A startup often hires in one country first. The lowest published fee differs by country.

The lowest published monthly fee for one employee, in the currency of the country. Other prices are converted at the ECB rate of 30 Sep 2026.

CountryLowest fee
Germany€175Boundless
United Kingdom£149Boundless
CanadaCA$279Boundless
India₹19,071Boundless
Philippines₱12,479Boundless
Netherlands€175Boundless
SingaporeS$254Boundless
BrazilR$1,035Boundless
Spain€175RemoFirst
MexicoMX$3,607Boundless

Sources: the provider tables in each country guide, with a link to each provider's pricing page. These are the provider fees only. The employer costs come on top. Compare the all-in cost in every country.

Questions and answers

Which is the best EOR for a startup?

It depends on the countries where you hire. Boundless, RemoFirst, Playroll and Oyster publish a price, and have no minimum term and no set-up fee, by their own websites. The cheapest of them is Boundless, at US$199 a month on average. Check the deposit before you sign.

Which EOR is the cheapest for a startup?

By the average published price in our 10 countries, the cheapest are Boundless (US$199), RemoFirst (US$199) and Skuad (US$404) a month. These are list prices. The price for one country, and the price after a discount, can differ, so ask for a quote.

Does an EOR ask a startup for a deposit?

8 of the 12 providers say that they take a deposit, at least in some cases. Where they state an amount, it is about 1 month of the salary or of the total cost. Deel's standard deposit is 1 to 1.5 months of all charges. A refundable deposit comes back at the end, but you cannot use the money until then.

Can a startup use an EOR for one employee?

Yes. An EOR employs each person for a monthly fee, so you can start with one employee. With many employees in one country, compare the fees with the cost of your own company.

Do providers pay for their place?

No. The order is the average published price, and the facts come from each provider's own website. No provider pays us.

Why do you not compare service quality?

We compare only facts that a provider states on its own website, and that we can link to. We cannot check service quality, support or software features against a source, so this page leaves them out.

Warning: This page is not legal or tax advice. The figures come from official sources, but your case can be different. Check them with a payroll expert before you hire.