Comparison
Oyster vs Papaya Global in 2026: the EOR price and the all-in cost
Oyster (also called Oyster HR) and Papaya Global both publish a price for their employer of record (EOR) service. Papaya Global gives a starting price. This page puts their published facts side by side, and shows the all-in cost of one employee with each provider in our 14 countries.
Key facts
- List prices
- Oyster: US$699 a month. Papaya Global: from US$499 a month. Each published price is for one employee.Oyster pricing, Papaya Global pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026
- All-in cost
- The all-in cost is lower with Papaya Global in 14 of 14 countries, at the default salary of each guide. In Germany, the difference is €2,515 a year.European Central BankChecked 1 Oct 2026
- Own company
- Oyster: 3 of 14 countries. Papaya Global: 0 of 14 countries.
- Our ranking
- Oyster: number 9 of 12, 27.0 of 100 points. Papaya Global: number 11 of 12, 21.9 of 100 points.
Oyster and Papaya Global side by side
What each provider says on its own website. The full terms are on our price pages for Oyster and Papaya Global.
| Fact | Oyster | Papaya Global |
|---|---|---|
| List price | US$699 a monthFor each employee, on the provider's pricing page.Oyster pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026 | From US$499 a monthFor each employee, on the provider's pricing page.Papaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 |
| Currency of the price | Local currency in 6 of 14 countriesOyster prices in euros, pounds and Canadian dollars in 6 countries, and in US dollars in the other 8.Oyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | US dollarsPapaya Global uses its US dollar price in all 14 of our countries.Papaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 |
| Extra fees | No set-up feesOyster says that it adds no extra charges for set-up and onboarding, for its HR experts or for terminations.Oyster pricingChecked 3 Oct 2026 | Currency feePapaya Global says that its prices have "no surprise fees or hidden markups". Its currency conversions use the mid-market rate plus an "FX processing fee", with no percent stated.Papaya Global pricing, Papaya Global FX rateChecked 4 Oct 2026 |
| Deposits | About 1 monthOyster normally asks for a fully refundable deposit of about 1 month of the total cost of each new hire. It can ask for more.Oyster pricing, Oyster help centre, why a deposit is required (9 Apr 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026 | RequiredPapaya Global's own blog says that its EOR "requires a deposit". It does not state the amount.Papaya Global blog, best EOR services (11 Aug 2026)Checked 4 Oct 2026 |
| Minimum term | Not statedThe pricing page says that Oyster charges its fee for each active employee, with discounts for yearly billing. It does not state a minimum term.Oyster pricingChecked 3 Oct 2026 | Not statedPapaya Global's pricing page does not state a minimum term for EOR. It asks for a tailored quote.Papaya Global pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026 |
| Own company | 3 of 14 countriesOyster says that it employs people through its own company in 3 countries. Its pages for the other 11 do not say. Each country guide gives the source. | 0 of 14 countriesPapaya Global says that it employs people through a local partner in 10 countries. Its pages for the other 4 do not say. Each country guide gives the source. |
| Licence | 0 of 11 countriesThe countries where the provider says, or an official register shows, that it or its partner holds the licence that our guide asks about, such as the AÜG licence in Germany. Each country guide gives the source. | 0 of 11 countriesThe countries where the provider says, or an official register shows, that it or its partner holds the licence that our guide asks about, such as the AÜG licence in Germany. Each country guide gives the source. |
| Our ranking | Number 9 of 1227.0 of 100 points. | Number 11 of 1221.9 of 100 points. |
| Quote | Get a quote from Oyster | Get a quote from Papaya Global |
See how we score the providers in our ranking. See all Oyster alternatives. See all Papaya Global alternatives.
Other comparisons: Deel vs Oyster, Deel vs Papaya Global, Remote vs Oyster and G-P vs Oyster.
The all-in cost in each country
The all-in cost is lower with Papaya Global in 14 of 14 countries, at the default salary of each guide.
The cost of one employee for a year: the salary, the employer's costs and the provider fee. Each country uses the default salary of its guide. Fees in other currencies use the ECB rate of 30 Sep 2026. Our totals leave out the extra fees in the table above.
| Country | Oyster | Papaya Global | Difference a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| €92,672Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | €90,157Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | €2,515Lower with Papaya Global | |
| £77,059Fee £599 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | £74,378Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | £2,681Lower with Papaya Global | |
| CA$108,162Fee CA$849 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | CA$106,467Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | CA$1,695Lower with Papaya Global | |
| ₹3,299,055Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | ₹3,069,052Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | ₹230,004Lower with Papaya Global | |
| ₱1,568,248Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | ₱1,417,751Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | ₱150,497Lower with Papaya Global | |
| €84,570Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | €82,055Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | €2,515Lower with Papaya Global | |
| S$147,168Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | S$144,103Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | S$3,065Lower with Papaya Global | |
| R$224,707Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | R$212,221Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | R$12,487Lower with Papaya Global | |
| €73,863Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | €71,348Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | €2,515Lower with Papaya Global | |
| MX$944,183Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | MX$900,682Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | MX$43,501Lower with Papaya Global | |
| €92,407Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | €89,892Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | €2,515Lower with Papaya Global | |
| AED 411,805Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | AED 402,991Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | AED 8,814Lower with Papaya Global | |
| CHF 139,762Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 21 Oct 2026 | CHF 137,759Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 21 Oct 2026 | CHF 2,003Lower with Papaya Global | |
| THB 1,492,523Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 21 Oct 2026 | THB 1,411,967Fee US$499 a monthPapaya Global pricingChecked 21 Oct 2026 | THB 80,556Lower with Papaya Global |
Questions and answers
Is Oyster cheaper than Papaya Global?
No, by the published prices. Oyster's list price is US$699 a month, and Papaya Global's list price starts at US$499 a month. The all-in cost is lower with Papaya Global in 14 of 14 countries, at the default salary of each guide. In Germany, the difference is €2,515 a year. Our totals leave out the extra fees in the table, so ask both providers for a quote.
Do Oyster and Papaya Global charge a deposit?
Oyster normally asks for a fully refundable deposit of about 1 month of the total cost of each new hire. Papaya Global's own blog says that its EOR requires a deposit, but it does not state the amount.
Which is better, Oyster or Papaya Global?
We do not review the service of either provider. We compare their published facts. Papaya Global's starting price of US$499 a month is lower than Oyster's list price of US$699. Oyster says that it adds no charges for set-up or terminations. Papaya Global adds an FX processing fee to currency conversions. Ask both for a quote for your country, and read the contract before you sign.
Change log
- We added Switzerland, which changed the tables, the counts and the ranking scores, and we started to count licences that an official register shows.
- We added Thailand, which changed the tables, the counts and the ranking scores.
- We published this page.
Warning: This page is not legal or tax advice. The figures come from official sources, but your case can be different. Check them with a payroll expert before you hire.