Comparison
Remote vs Oyster in 2026: the EOR price and the all-in cost
Remote and Oyster (also called Oyster HR) both publish a price for their employer of record (EOR) service. This page puts their published facts side by side, and shows the all-in cost of one employee with each provider in our 10 countries.
Key facts
- List prices
- Remote: from US$599 a month. Oyster: US$699 a month. Each published price is for one employee.Remote pricing, Oyster pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026
- All-in cost
- The all-in cost is lower with Remote in 9 of 10, and with Oyster in 1 of 10 countries, at the default salary of each guide. In Germany, the difference is €1,458 a year.European Central BankChecked 1 Oct 2026
- Own company
- Remote: 10 of 10 countries. Oyster: 3 of 10 countries.
- Our ranking
- Remote: number 2 of 12, 59.9 of 100 points. Oyster: number 9 of 12, 30.4 of 100 points.
Remote and Oyster side by side
What each provider says on its own website. The full terms are on our price pages for Remote and Oyster.
| Fact | Remote | Oyster |
|---|---|---|
| List price | From US$599 a monthFor each employee, on the provider's pricing page.Remote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | US$699 a monthFor each employee, on the provider's pricing page.Oyster pricingChecked 4 Oct 2026 |
| Currency of the price | US dollarsRemote uses its US dollar price in all 10 of our countries.Remote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | Local currency in 5 of 10 countriesOyster prices in euros, pounds and Canadian dollars in 5 countries, and in US dollars in the other 5.Oyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 |
| Extra fees | No set-up feesRemote says that there are no set-up or onboarding fees, and that its platform is included at no extra cost.Remote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | No set-up feesOyster says that it adds no extra charges for set-up and onboarding, for its HR experts or for terminations.Oyster pricingChecked 3 Oct 2026 |
| Deposits | In some casesRemote says that it charges no standard deposit. In certain cases, it can ask for a refundable reserve payment.Remote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | About 1 monthOyster normally asks for a fully refundable deposit of about 1 month of the total cost of each new hire. It can ask for more.Oyster pricing, Oyster help centre, why a deposit is required (9 Apr 2025)Checked 4 Oct 2026 |
| Minimum term | Not statedThe pricing page does not state a minimum term for EOR.Remote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | Not statedThe pricing page says that Oyster charges its fee for each active employee, with discounts for yearly billing. It does not state a minimum term.Oyster pricingChecked 3 Oct 2026 |
| Own company | 10 of 10 countriesRemote says that it employs people through its own company in each of these countries. Each country guide gives the source. | 3 of 10 countriesOyster says that it employs people through its own company in 3 countries. Its pages for the other 7 do not say. Each country guide gives the source. |
| Licence | 0 of 8 countriesThe countries where the provider says that it, or its partner, holds the licence that our guide asks about, such as the AÜG licence in Germany. Each country guide gives the source. | 0 of 8 countriesThe countries where the provider says that it, or its partner, holds the licence that our guide asks about, such as the AÜG licence in Germany. Each country guide gives the source. |
| Our ranking | Number 2 of 1259.9 of 100 points. | Number 9 of 1230.4 of 100 points. |
| Quote | Get a quote from Remote | Get a quote from Oyster |
See how we score the providers in our ranking. See all Remote alternatives. See all Oyster alternatives.
Other comparisons: Deel vs Remote, Deel vs Oyster and Remote vs Rippling.
The all-in cost in each country
The all-in cost is lower with Remote in 9 of 10, and with Oyster in 1 of 10 countries, at the default salary of each guide.
The cost of one employee for a year: the salary, the employer's costs and the provider fee. Each country uses the default salary of its guide. Fees in other currencies use the ECB rate of 30 Sep 2026. Our totals leave out the extra fees in the table above.
| Country | Remote | Oyster | Difference a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| €91,214Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | €92,672Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | €1,458Lower with Remote | |
| £75,281Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | £77,059Fee £599 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | £1,778Lower with Remote | |
| CA$108,169Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | CA$108,162Fee CA$849 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | CA$7Lower with Oyster | |
| ₹3,184,053Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | ₹3,299,055Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | ₹115,002Lower with Remote | |
| ₱1,492,999Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | ₱1,568,248Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 1 Oct 2026 | ₱75,249Lower with Remote | |
| €83,112Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | €84,570Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | €1,458Lower with Remote | |
| S$145,636Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | S$147,168Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | S$1,533Lower with Remote | |
| R$218,464Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | R$224,707Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | R$6,243Lower with Remote | |
| €72,405Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | €73,863Fee €649 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | €1,458Lower with Remote | |
| MX$922,433Fee US$599 a monthRemote pricingChecked 20 Oct 2026 | MX$944,183Fee US$699 a monthOyster pricingChecked 2 Oct 2026 | MX$21,751Lower with Remote |
Questions and answers
Is Remote cheaper than Oyster?
It depends on the country. Remote's list price starts at US$599 a month, and Oyster's list price is US$699 a month. The all-in cost is lower with Remote in 9 of 10, and with Oyster in 1 of 10 countries, at the default salary of each guide. In Germany, the difference is €1,458 a year. Our totals leave out the extra fees in the table, so ask both providers for a quote.
Do Remote and Oyster charge a deposit?
Oyster normally asks for a fully refundable deposit of about 1 month of the total cost of each new hire. Remote says that it charges no standard deposit, but it can ask for a refundable reserve payment in some cases.
Which is better, Remote or Oyster?
We do not review the service of either provider. We compare their published facts. Remote's list price starts at US$599 a month, and Oyster's list price is US$699. Both say that they charge no set-up fees. Ask both for a quote for your country, and read the contract before you sign.
Change log
- We published this page.
Warning: This page is not legal or tax advice. The figures come from official sources, but your case can be different. Check them with a payroll expert before you hire.